Importing an existing unmanaged LiveID into a managed Live@edu domain as a MailUser object

This question came up today with a customer I was talking to that wanted to create MailUser objects in Outlook Live along with associated LiveIDs.  The customer wanted to create the MailUsers in an Accepted Domain they had set up on Outlook Live so that they could give their Faculty and Staff an ads-free experience on things like SkyDrive/Office Live Workspaces.

The customer ran into an issue when they tried to create some MailUsers with LiveIDs that existed before they had enrolled in the Live@edu program with Outlook Live.  They got the following error message:

Member name is used by an unmanaged member. UnmanagedMemberExists: The specified member name is in use.

We document how to deal with this when this happens while trying to create mailboxes, but I wanted to let you know that the same switches work with the New-MailUser cmdlet.

so for example:

New-MailUser -Name "Tamara Johnston" -WindowsLiveID tjohnston@contoso.com –ImportLiveID

Hope that helps!

Jonny

6 Responses to Importing an existing unmanaged LiveID into a managed Live@edu domain as a MailUser object

  1. Mike says:

    Hey jonny, I am running into a problem trying to modify the HiddenFromAddressListsEnabled from TRUE to FALSE…My command is set-mailbox {user} -HiddenFromAddressListsEnabled $false BUT…I get this error:Set-Mailbox : A parameter cannot be found that matches parameter name \’HiddenFromAddressListsEnabled\’.Please Help!

  2. Mike says:

    This is sortof related to a recent forums post I\’ve been watching. Galsync already creates these types of accounts when it encounters mailboxes in the monitored OU does it not? Is this post target at people not using Galsync 2010? Can Galsync point at a taff and faculty domain in the same forest, or would you have to use the above method to create accounts for faculty if they were in a seperate domain?

  3. John says:

    But it doesn\’t always work. We have had problems with doing exactly what the example stated and received this reply-"The proxy address "SMTP:xxxx@xxxxxxx" is already being used by "xxxxxxxxx". Please choose another proxy address."There is no email listed with name name in the domain (get-user comes up empty).Any ideas?

  4. John says:

    Here is another kicker-I created an email account- gave it a password. I found out that somehow, the outlook live had not been "registered" ??? I had tried several times to co-brand it- over a two day period. No luck.I tried creating the account again with the same email address- and I did. Everything works- except that when I try and login to that account using the first email password it takes me to a screen which says "the current windows live ID is no longer valid…"I see you listed a script for new users and combining- but what if you have on outllok live and Winods live account, exactly the same. What script would allow them to be joined? (I can lose everything in the windows live id- the user hasn\’t used it.

  5. US LiveAtedu says:

    Could I suggest that you log a support call to get this resolved: https://support.microsoft.com/oas/default.aspx?&prid=12480&ln=en-us&st=1

  6. ADMINISTRADOR says:

    I\’ve one problem , i\’ve 10 emails created 2 years ago registrated with passport.net , but now I\’m using Live at edu , but I dont no how can I register this emails account with manage poral of live at edu. thanks you.

Leave a comment